Subscribe to RSSTHe Week
Construction for nat'l games to finish in 4 days
Do not entertain illegal Tibetans, says Chinese expert on Tibetology
SRC report to be first discussed in thematic committee
Gupta repeats Madhes may break ties with Kathmandu
SC stays Gachchhadar's citizenship fiat
Govt to bust brokers at Kalimati veg market
Govt, Maoists to be blamed if country blacklisted: UML
My Republica e-Paper.
Phalano by Rajesh KC
Cartoon Archive »  

Republica, Nagarik News
  Daily News
  Photo Gallery
  UCPN (Maoist) 6th Plenum
  Govt Policies & Programs
  Budget 2009/10 Speech
Thursday WEATHER

Low o
High o
Sunrise N/A
Sunset N/A
  NC announces 5 CWC members from janajatis  


KATHMANDU, Sept 25: Nepali Congress (NC) Central Election Committee on Saturday declared the names of five persons, including two women elected as Central Working Committee (CWC) members under Aadibasi/Janajati category.

The ongoing vote counting for the CWC berths of the party in the open and zonal categories will resume at 8 am on Sunday.

According to Election Committee, Bhisma Raj Angdembe, Surya Man Gurung and Dhan Raj Gurung, Sita Gurung and Ratna Sherchan have been elected as CWC members under the Aadibasi and Janajati category. While Angdembe and Sita Gurung are from the Sher Bahadur Deuba panel, Surya Man, Dhan Raj and Sherchan are from the establishment faction led by Sushil Koirala.

Earlier on Friday, the Election Committee declared the names CWC members from seats reserved for women, dalits, Madhesis and Muslims. The NC has allocated 22 reserved seats for various marginalized groups. These include six for women, five each including two women for Aadibasi/Janajati, Dalits and Madhesis, and one for Muslims.

Twelve of CWC members elected from the reserved seats are from the Deuba panel.

According to Basu Dev Acharya, an election officer, the counting of the votes for 25 CWC seats under open category and 14 CWC berths under zonal category will resume at 8 am on Sunday. The Election Committee put off the vote counting at 8 pm Saturday after counting 600 votes under open category and 900 votes under zonal category.

If the preliminary results obtained from the vote counting on open and zonal categories are anything to go by, both Deuba and Sushil factions will have almost 50 percent of the total 25 CWC seats in the open and 14 seats in the zonal categories.

Of the total 600 votes counted in open category, Arjun Narsingh KC, Gagan Thapa, Khum Bahadur Khadka, Shashank Koirala, Sujata Koirala, Ram Chandra Poudel, Pradip Giri, Bal Krishna Khand, Ram Sharan Mahat, NP Saud, Prakash Sharan Mahat, Shekhar Koirala, Mahesh Acharya, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Minendra Rijal, Chandra Bhandari and Gopal Man Shrestha are leading in terms of chronological order.

Likewise, Purna Bahadur Khadka, Narayan Khadka, Kul Bahadur Gurung, Bal Bahadur KC, Shankar Bhandari, Gobinda Raj Joshi, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Manmohan Bhattarai, Jip Chhiring Lama, Chiranjeevi Wagle, Dip Kumar Upadhyaya, Chakra Prasad Bastola, Tara Nath Ranabhat, Suprabha Ghimire and Binaya Dhwaj Chanda are also among those taking lead in first 30 candidates securing more votes. Altogether 99 candidates are in the fray for 25 CWC seats.

Likewise, those taking a lead in the zonal category include Narendra Bikram Nembang from Mechi, Aamod Prasad Upadhyay from Koshi, Ram Kumar Chaudhary from Sagarmatha, Aananda Prasad Dhungana from Janakpur, Nabindra Raj Joshi from Bagmati and Ramesh Rijal from Narayani zone.

Surendra Raj Pandey from Gandaki, Arjun Prasad Joshi from Dhaulagiri, Dipak Giri from Rapti, Jiwan Kumar Shahi from Karnali, Kishor Singh Rathaur from Bheri and Badri Pandey from Seti are among those taking the lead.

There is a close competition between Krishna Chandra Nepali and Bharat Kumar Shah from Lumbini and Dilendra Prasad Badu and Ramesh Lekhak from Mahakali zone.

Election officer Acharya said it took minimum three hours for them to count 100 votes in open category and one hour to count 100 votes in zonal category. “We may be able to finish counting votes in zonal category on Sunday,” he said. “But there is less possibility of finishing the votes counting in open category.”

Published on 2010-09-25 22:18:04
# # Share [Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]



Please give your full name while posting your comments. This is not to stifle the free flow of comments but your full name will enable us to print the comments in our newspaper.


NC Announces 5 CWC Members From Janajatis
Comment on this news #
Related News
More on Political Affairs
About us  |  Contact us  |  Advertise with us  |  Career   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy
Copyright © Nepal Republic Media Pvt. Ltd. 2008-10.