Subscribe to RSSTHe Week
Construction for nat'l games to finish in 4 days
Do not entertain illegal Tibetans, says Chinese expert on Tibetology
SRC report to be first discussed in thematic committee
Gupta repeats Madhes may break ties with Kathmandu
SC stays Gachchhadar's citizenship fiat
Govt to bust brokers at Kalimati veg market
Govt, Maoists to be blamed if country blacklisted: UML
My Republica e-Paper.
Phalano by Rajesh KC
Cartoon Archive »  

Republica, Nagarik News
  Daily News
  Photo Gallery
  UCPN (Maoist) 6th Plenum
  Govt Policies & Programs
  Budget 2009/10 Speech
Saturday WEATHER

Low o
High o
Sunrise N/A
Sunset N/A
  NC elects most inclusive CWC  


KATHMANDU, Sept 27: The Nepali Congress (NC) 12th General Convention formally concluded on Monday, electing the most inclusive Central Working Committee (CWC) in its history.

The newly elected CWC has welcomed 33 new faces including youth leader Gagan Thapa, who bagged the highest vote of all candidates contesting the 25 CWC seats allocated for open competition.

The election process of the general convention that began at village level on June 23 concluded on Monday after declaring the results for those contesting the 25 CWC seats in open category and 14 seats under zonal category.

NC´s Central Election Committee conducted the central election on September 21 to elect a total of 64 members including the party president, general-secretary and treasurer.

A total of 3,088 general convention representatives from across the country and abroad had gathered in Kathmandu to take part in the five-day convention that began on September 17.

The elected president will nominate 21 other members to give full shape to the 85-member CWC. The NC was able to give space to people from various marginalized groups thanks to the amended party statute that reserved quotas for them.

Koirala in majority

Of the total 64 members elected directly by general convention representatives, the Sushil Koirala panel has been able to secure 35 CWC berths including the party president and general-secretary. Likewise, the Sher Bahadur Deuba panel has bagged 29 CWC berths including the party treasurer.

Of the total 25 CWC seats in the open category, the Koirala and Deuba panels secured 14 and 11 seats respectively. Likewise, in the zonal category, the Koirala panel has won nine CWC seats and Deuba´s, five seats.

As per the party statute, the elected president of the party can nominate an additional 21 CWC members including one each from among women, Dalits, Aadibasi/Janajatis, Madhesis and Muslims.

New faces in CWC

Altogether 33 out of the 63 directly elected members in the party´s 85-member CWC are new.

The new faces include Gagan Thapa, Chandra Bhandari, Shankar Bhandari, Mohammad Aftab Aalam, Min Bishwakarma, Jiwan Pariyar, Sujata Pariyar, Kabita Sardar Batar, Pushpa Bhusal, Kamala Panta, Ambika Basnet, Ishwari Neupane, Umakanta Chaudhary, Ajaya Kumar Chaurasiya, Mahendra Yadav, Parbati DC Chaudhary and Minakshi Jha.

Ram Kumar Chaudhari, Surya Man Gurung, Dhan Raj Gurung, Sita Gurung, Ratna Sherchan, Narendra Bikram Nembang, Nabindra Raj Joshi, Ramesh Rijal, Surendra Pandey, Krishna Chandra Nepali, Arjun Joshi, Dipak Giri, Kishor Singh Rathour, Badri Pandey and Dilendra Prasad Badu are also among the new faces in the CWC elected by the party´s 12th general convention.

Familiar faces defeated

Senior NC figures and renowned youth leaders have faced defeat in the 12th general convention. These leaders include Chakra Bastola, Govinda Raj Joshi, Ram Krishna Tamrakar, Pradip Poudel, Jip Chhiring Lama, Shobhakar Parajuli, Chiranjeevi Wagle and D B Lama.

While Joshi stood in the 26th position in the contest for CWC members in the open category, student leader Poudel ranked in 27th position.

All Koirala family members elected

All members from the Koirala family contesting CWC berths have been elected. They include Aamod Upadhyaya, Sujata Koirala, Shekhar Koirala and Shashanka Koirala, who have been elected in the open category.

Sujata is the lone woman to get elected CWC member from the open category. She stood fifth among the 25 CWC members elected under the open category, securing 1,739 votes.


1. Gagan Thapa (2,061 votes)
2. Arjun Narsingh KC (2,034)
3. Khum Bahadur Khadka (1,791)
4. Shashanka Koirala (1,767)
5. Pradip Giri (1,741)
6. Sujata Koirala (1,739)
7. Ram Chandra Paudel (1,703)
8. Dr Ram Sharan Mahat (1,699)
9. Bal Krishna Khand (1,606)
10. N P Saud (1,556)
11. Dr Shekhar Koirala (1,531)
12. Mahesh Acharya (1,501)
13. Dr Minendra Rijal (1,435)
14. Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat (1,382)
15. Krishna Sitaula (1,373)
16. Chandra Bhandari (1,368)
17. Dr Narayan Khadka (1,340)
18. Gopal Man Shrestha (1,286)
19. Bal Bahadur KC (1,286)
20. Purna Bahadur Khadka (1,246)
21. Shankar Bhandari (1,219)
22. Kul Bahadur Gurung (1,155)
23. Man Mohan Bhattarai (1,080)
24. Gyanendra Bahadur Karki (1,068)
25. Dip Kumar Upadhyay (1,020)


1. Dilendra Prasad Badu (Mahakali)
2. Badri Pandey (Seti)
3. Kishor Singh Rathaur (Bheri)
4. Deepak Giri (Rapti)
5. Jivan Bahadur Shahi (Karnali)
6. Krishna Chandra Nepali (Lumbini)
7. Surendra Pandey (Gandaki)
8. Ramesh Rijal (Narayani)
9. Arjun Joshi (Dhaulagiri)
10. Ananda Prasad Dhungana (Janakpur)
11. Navindra Raj Joshi (Bagmati)
12. Ram Kumar Chaudhary (Sagarmatha)
13. Amod Prasad Upadhyay (Koshi)
14. Narendra Bikram Nembang (Mechi)

Published on 2010-09-27 14:31:07
# # Share [Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]



Please give your full name while posting your comments. This is not to stifle the free flow of comments but your full name will enable us to print the comments in our newspaper.


NC Elects Most Inclusive CWC
Comment on this news #
Related News
More on Political Affairs
Congratulations! to the winners. The three supper corrupt from Gandakey Zone (Joshi, Wagle, Tara Bhatt) were voted out or kept out of the CC. Great job. Only my disappointment is the election of mostly from Upper Cast Pahadiya, and out of the first 25, I could not find a single candidate with a sirname from traditional Madheshi community. Why? Have the top Madheshi leaders in NC have already deserted NC to the other three or four Main Madheshi Parties? How will you include in NC will be very im [more]
  - GyaREl
I´m glad Gagan got the most vote, which signifies that NC is about FUTURE and not so much about the past performers. I am disappointed that Khum and Sujata are still going to be around to pester this institution but hopefully they will be in more and more minority in the coming days. Best wishes to all the non-corrupt winning candidates who are willing to truly fight for Better Nepal. I hope Dr. Dinesh Prasain too will soon be a household name in Nepali politics and give a much needed sens [more]
  - Kiran Sitoula
This is probably the best result one could have expected at least if you care for governance. Two most corrupt leaders (I donīt need to name them and would intelligent readers to guess who they are. Hint: both of them are from Gandaki zone) have been voted out. The only sad part is that another corrupt leader has been elected with substantial number of votes . [more]
  - Dipen Sunwar
About us  |  Contact us  |  Advertise with us  |  Career   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy
Copyright © Nepal Republic Media Pvt. Ltd. 2008-10.